Skip to content

Seller briefings

Public-source analysis of ecommerce changes, separating facts from inference and providing actions and verifiable counterevidence.

Platform updatesLogistics and supply chainsFinancial resultsUnited StatesCanadaEuropean Union

Amazon Tightens FBA Inbound Rules: Claim Disputes Increase, Putting Seller Profits Under Pressure

Impact level

🟡 Consider

⚠ Risk:Warehouse transfers and relabeling usually take 1–2 months, and longer during peak season. Removal orders are generally irreversible, while shipment discrepancy claims and reimbursement appeals have deadlines; the starting point is unknown, and whether the current rules still apply needs verification.

What happened

Amazon's 2026 FBA inbound rules take effect: Starting January 1, the US store ends prep and product labeling services, with the European and Canadian stores following on July 1. For shipments created after those dates, goods that arrive damaged or untraceable because they were not labeled or prepped will not be reimbursed. Starting March 31, commingled inventory will also end across six major stores, including the US and Europe. Resellers, distributors, and sellers who list against existing listings must apply an Amazon barcode to each item, even if they have a UPC. Multiple sellers report difficulties providing evidence for claims involving warehouse labeling errors, lost or damaged inventory, and template-like responses, leaving them to bear the losses; some sellers have also succeeded in getting incorrect assessments reversed after appealing. The article does not provide official announcement numbers or a complete list of stores. [1]

Seller impact

  • InferenceOperating and evidentiary costs for inbound shipments are rising: after labeling, prep, and commingled inventory services end, sellers must build their own inspection and image-retention processes. Disputes over incorrect assessments require an investigation before compensation can be discussed, and it is harder to appeal shipment discrepancies. The impact is concentrated in inbound shipments, claims, and relabeling. [1]
  • InferenceHidden costs are squeezing profits: relabeling, warehouse transfers, inbounding goods again, and losses from stockouts add up. Sellers report rising advertising, commission, logistics, and storage fees without increased sales. The article provides no fee rates, claim volumes, or cost shares, so the scale of the impact cannot be quantified. [1]

Suggested action

Keep records according to an evidence checklist, including screenshots of received quantities, label images showing the unique FNSKU, and the POD. If there is a discrepancy, request an investigation before discussing removal, and verify the current rules in Seller Central.

Evidence that would disprove the assessment

  • Assessment 1:This assessment should be revised downward if Amazon officially updates its reimbursement policy or publishes data showing improved claim approval rates or processing times. Sellers should review the latest Seller Central rules and case outcomes over the next two weeks.
  • Assessment 2:This assessment would not hold if Amazon announces adjustments to inbound defect fees, lowers storage rates, or sellers disclose comparable data showing a decrease in per-unit fulfillment costs.
Platform updatesFinancial resultsUnited StatesCanadaUnited Kingdom

Shop Pay Installments can now cover multiple business entities under the same Shopify merchant

Impact level

🟡 Consider

What happened

On September 22, 2026, Shopify announced an update: Shop Pay Installments, its built-in buy now, pay later option within Shop Pay, can now be enabled for all business entities under the same merchant, rather than only the primary entity. The feature is available to eligible merchants and buyers in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. Merchants can enable it for eligible entities in the payment methods settings in Shopify Payments. The source does not disclose specific eligibility criteria, fees, or implementation details. [1]

Seller impact

  • InferenceFor Shopify merchants operating multiple entities in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K., installment payment capabilities can extend to subsidiary entities, potentially affecting checkout conversion and average order value mix; however, eligibility thresholds have not been announced, so availability must still be verified for each entity. [1]
  • InferenceEnabling installments for multiple entities means more orders are processed through Shop Pay. The Shopify Payments terms determine which entity receives settlements and bears chargeback liability; the source does not specify this. [1]

Suggested action

Check Shopify Payments settings to see whether the Shop Pay Installments toggle and eligibility notice appear for each entity.

Evidence that would disprove the assessment

  • Assessment 1:This assessment would no longer hold if Shopify later announces, or its settings page shows, that the feature is available only to certain entity types, or if the feature is rolled back.
  • Assessment 2:This inference would not hold if the terms make clear that liability remains centralized in the primary entity, or if installments do not affect the settlement path.